Tripura State Pollution Control Board


Plastic has multiple uses and the physical and chemical properties lead to commercial success. However, the indiscriminate disposal of plastic has become a major threat to the environment. In particular, the plastic carry bags are the biggest contributors of littered waste and every year, millions of plastic bags end up in to the environment vis-a-vis soil, water bodies, water courses, etc and it takes an average of one thousand years to decompose completely. Therefore, to address the issue of scientific plastic waste management, the Plastic Waste (Management and Handling) Rules, 2011 were notified in 2011, which included plastic waste management. The Government has notified the Plastic Waste Management Rules, 2016, in suppression of the earlier Plastic Waste (Management and Handling) Rules, 2011. Tripura has imposed a complete ban on the manufacture, import, storing, transport, sale and use of plastic carry bags in the state in view of its hazardous effect on the environment. Under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, the Tripura government has imposed the complete ban on the production, import, storing, transport, sale and use of plastic carry bags. Download The Plastic Waste Management Rules, 2016
Sl.No. Name of the ULB Quantity of Waste Genreation (MT)
1 Mohanpur Municipal Council 9.7
2 Agartala Municiapl Corporation 241.1
3 Ranirbazar Municipal Council 7.2
4 Jirania Nagar Panchayet 6.3
5 Panisagar Nagar Panchayet 5.8
6 Dharmanagar Municipal Council 22.4
7 Kailashahar Municipal Council 13.2
8 Kumarghat Municipal Council 7.9
9 Ambassa Municipal Council 9.3
10 Kamalpur Nagar Panchayet 6.0
11 Sabroom Nagar Panchayet 4.0
12 Belonia Municiapl Council 10.6
13 Santirbazar Municipal Council 6.9
14 Amarpur Nagar Panchayet 5.8
15 Udaipur Municipal Council 18.5
16 Teliamura Municipal Council 11.4
17 Khowai Municipal Council 10.1
18 Melaghar Municipal Council 10.4
19 Bishalgarh Municipal Council 11.6
20 Sonamura Nagar Panchayet 6.1
21 26 Census Town 159.0
(Source: Tripura State Pollution Control Board for the year 2016-17)

Public Complaint

1. Sri Bishu Karmakar,
Member Secretary (9436169779)

2. Sri Prakash Paul,
Jr. Env. Engineer (9612769715)


Tripura State Pollution Control Board
Parivesh Bhawan, P.N. Complex,Gorkhabasti, P.O. Kunjaban, Agartala, Tripura-799006
Phone: 0381 2312589

Content of the Website is maintained by Tripura State Pollution Control Board